The Wokingham Paper

Crowthorne see off Twyford to seal victory

Crowthorne CC
Crowthorne CC 2nd v Twyford & Ruscombe (batting) Crowthorne celebrate the wicket.

CROWTHORNE & Crown Wood defeated Twyford & Ruscombe as they surpassed the first innings total in just 31.1overs to sail to a five wicket victory.

Twyford and Ruscombe batted first but the early bowling of James Sussex caused them problems as he picked up two early wickets to dismiss Mark Higgins (12) and Arif Basha (4).

David Shaw continued Crowthorne’s fast start and claimed the wicket of Kiran Siddineni (4) to make the score 21-3 and then added a second wicket to his tally as they dismissed Simon Burr for a duck.

With the score at a dangerously low 32-4, Twyford and Ruscombe finally had some stability with Rajendra Babu at the crease as he hit a vital 40 runs for his side before being bowled out by Nirav Upadhyay.

Crowthorne CC 2nd v Twyford & Ruscombe (batting)
Crowthorne appeal, turned down.

But Crowthorne were clinical and caused another quick collapse in wickets as they claimed three wickets for a return of just two runs to take the score to 77-7.

Shiva Nagam held onto his wicket and remained not out on the way to knocking a crucial 32 runs to help his side post a respectable total as Razavulah Shaik contributed with 17 runs in the tail end to prevent further collapse.

With just 148 to defend, Twyford made a determined start to their bowling and got an early breakthrough as Shiva Nagam removed David McQuitty for a duck.

Rajendra Babu continued Twyford’s brilliant bowling start as he claimed the next two wickets as Tom Nash was dismissed for three runs before Andrew Baines lost his wicket for just eight runs.

Crowthorne CC 2nd v Twyford & Ruscombe (batting)
Rajendra Babu is bowled out

Crowthorne managed to stop the rot of early wickets, and with Simon Sheppard and Fitzroy Morrissey at the crease, they struck up a vitally important partnership to take the hosts close to the run chase.

Sheppard scored 39 runs while Morrissey totalled 61 as Babu recorded his third wicket of the match.

But with plenty of overs remaining, Crowthorne closed in on victory as David Shaw scored 22 runs and Peter Clarke (4) partnered him in bat as they surpassed the first innings total set by Twyford to clinch the win after just 31.1 overs with five wickets to spare.

Twyford & Ruscombe batting: Higgins 12, Siddineni 4, Basha 4, Burr 0, Babu 40, Lancum 11, Nagam 32no, Woodbridge 0, Teal 8, Shaik 17, Nichols 10.

Crowthorne & Crown Wood bowling: Sussex 3-21, Finucane 2-37, Partridge 2-35, Upadhyay 2-29, Clarke 1-22.

Crowthorne & Crown Wood batting: McQuitty 0, Nash 3, Baines 8, Sheppard 39, Morrissey 61, Shaw 22no, Clarke 4no, Finucane dnb, Partridge dnb, Upadhyay dnb, Sussex dnb.

Twyford & Ruscombe bowling: Nagam 1-29, Babu 3-17, Shaik 1-30, Woodbridge 0-11, Lancum 0-16, Teal 0-16, Nichols 0-24.

Related posts

Angry walkers criticise new plans for Dinton at consultation

Jess Warren

Paul Clement expects Reading FC’s clash with struggling Ipswich to be “hardest game of the season”

Tom Crocker

Bracknell Bees young star Grinell-Parke delighted at GB call-up

Tom Crocker
0 0 vote
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x