Reading Rockets celebrate presentation evening

Rockets Ladies div
Rockets Ladies Div 1

READING Rockets celebrated their ‘Coming of Age‘ 21st year with a presentation evening at the Hilton hotel.

From humble beginnings and just two National league squads, the Rockets now have 15 teams playing regional and National leagues together with 5 Satellite Clubs, two SEN Clubs and a comprehensive Miniballers and Mightyballers programme for 4-10 year olds, besides one of the top four basketball academies based at The John Madejski Academy.

The evening welcomed VIP guests including Rockets Chairman Gary Johnson, who began with a short address including warm thanks to Rockets benefactors colloquially as The Friends of Reading Rockets. This was followed by Head of Communities sharing what is success together with the success, initiatives and developments in and around the town, including the establishing of a Berkshire Special Olympics programme run by Rockets and coupled to an SEN project. Rockets Eat Well for Less community practical food and hygiene programme had rave responses.

Rockers Mens Div 1 team

The Director of Coaching, Matt Johnson, talked of the journeys of a basketball player as he shared the stage with the captains of both the Senior Men (Danny Carter) and Senior Ladies (Maike Delow Fasbender), who are now both retiring.

Matt also shared the exciting and successful launch of Rockets new streaming of all senior games and the developments of Rockets charity, Rockets Sport and Educational Foundation as it plays an increasing role in the future growth and plans for the Berkshire Club. Being the first English basketball player to be signed by Barcelona, former JMA student, 16-year-old  Matt Marsh received an alumni award.

Some 30 young and older volunteers received Special Appreciation awards with five others receiving Special Awards and due to the limitations on the Windsor Suite being 330, Rockets growing number of 4-10 year-old players will have their own Miniballers and Mightyballers event later this month.

Player awards:

Under 10 Boys

MVP- Dominykas Bukys

MIP- Noah Perrone

Under 12 Girls

MVP- Amelie Griffiths

MIP- Ciara Griffiths

Under 12 Boys

MVP- Emran Mahmutovic

MIP- Seth Payne

Under 14 Boys I

MVP- Thomas Ferguson

MIP- Minshok Angthopo

Under 14 Boys II

MVP- Elliot Hayburn

MIP- Niall Rapecki

Under 14/16 Girls

MVP- Leesa Woods

MIP- Abigail Wyatt

Under 16 Boys I

MVP- Victor Gadea Arcos

MIP- James Okonkwo

Under 16 Boys II

MVP- Ciaran Murtagh

MIP- Connor Rapecki

Under 16 Boys III

MVP- Ruel Idedia

MIP- Louis Johnson

Under 18 Women

MVP- Paula Romero Tarrega

MIP- Saffie Jarju

Under 18 Regional

MVP- Jamie O’Sullivan

MIP- Joshua Adams

Under 18 Premier
MVP- David Chive

MIP- Sam Grant

Wessex Ladies

MVP- Emmanuelle Huto

MIP- Barbara Ahland

Div 1 Women
MVP- Monica Herranz De Antonio

MIP- Maria Angeles Valdeolmillos Gomez

Div 1 Men

MVP– AJ Carr

MIP– David Chive

Coach of the Year– Vicent Blai Benlloch

Margaret Kenderdine Clubman of the Year– Steph Johnson


Wokingham Today Retina logo

Keep up to date by signing up for our daily newsletter

We don’t spam we only send our newsletter to people who have requested it.

Related posts

Neighbourhood Watch says no to scammers

Jess Warren

Emmbrook and Bearwood suffer heavy defeat to Frieth

Andy Preston

LETTERS: Ditching Thatcherism or doing something different?

Phil Creighton
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Wokingham Today – which is a Social Enterprise  provides Wokingham Borough with free, independent news coverage.

If you are able, please support our work.

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x